Enjoy the Comox Valley & Learn on the Land

Here is our description from our profile page for travellers wanting to work on the farm in exchange for room and board:

We have a small blueberry farm in the initial set up phase. We planted our berries in the spring of 2015 and expect to have a crop in 2017. We have 60 hens, give or take, and usually have chicks on the go as well. We have fruit trees and a large hugelkulture garden we are working to improve.

We are looking for a one or two people who are willing to help with the farm work and some meal prep. that we can't keep up with as we have three kids: ages 11, 3 and 1.5! We rarely ask for help with childcare but it is essential that you enjoy being around kids or you won't enjoy your stay here :) And we definitely need help from time to time with the kids while we are there - playing with a toddler while I cook, reading to a young one if you are done eating etc. 

The help we require right now is a mix of everything from planting seeds, putting up fencing, tending chickens, helping with little projects in the house to more monotonous/hard work tasks like weeding and wheelbarrowing mulch. Sometimes we will be working with you, other times you will be working on your own. 

We are about 15 minutes drive from town so having a car or bike is essential. 

Ideally, we would love someone to be here for 1 -2 weeks but if it is a good fit we are flexible with that.
We eat a wide variety of foods with no diet restrictions. Someone who is willing to help with cooking would be ideal and we will supply the ingredients. Sharing of cooking and clean up is expected here. 

We really want our helpers to enjoy their stay here and we are happy to suggest places to go and see. We have 25 hours of work per week per person and the helpers who are best suited to our home are those that also chip in when they see that it is needed - helping with meals etc.. 

There is a 10 year old, a 3 year old and a 1 year old in the house so things are sometimes a little messy and loud but evenings are quiet and there is plenty of space for you to have your privacy.

The Area

We live in a beautiful part of Canada. Mountains, ocean and farmland all around us. Courtenay and Comox are 15 minutes down the road. The ocean is a 5 minute drive or 40 minute walk away and Mt. Washington (skiing and hiking) is only 25 minutes from the house.

We live in the countryside 10 minutes North of Courtenay but have the great fortune of living on a loop road with 5 acre properties so there is a wonderful community of people. Many people walk "the loop" which is 2.5km throughout the day and stop and chat along the way. We also have access to the private land behind us which you are welcome to walk or cycle on. There are trails leading to a number of beaches.

Thank you for your interest in our farm. We hope to get the chance to meet you.

Type of help needed:

Cooking / shopping
General Maintenance
Help in the house
Animal care


We ask our helpers for 25 hours of their time per week. They can divide this up any way that suits them.

Languages spoken



You will have a beautiful room in the family home with a shared bathroom. There is an art room/tv room/living room for helpers to use as a semi-private space.

What else ...

We are about 15 minutes from the city of Courtenay/Comox. There are running trails to the beach from behind our house and Mt. Washington/Strathcona park is close by for hiking, skiing and biking.

We have internet access

We have pets

We are not smokers and there is no smoking allowed anywhere on the property.

We can accommodate two workers.


Helper Reviews

"I had such an amazing time at Arran and Gavin's place. They are so generous, easy-going and always in a good mood! Their kids are so funny and lovely, same for the family in general.

It felt like home within a few days. Arran was flexible about the volunteering schedule and the tasks were fun! Whether you like working with animals (chicken chores), repiaring something ( barn doors) , cooking or even gardening, depending on what is needed Arran got a fun work for you to do.Their dog Bronte is so cute and well-behaved!

They advised me about what I can do in this area, and always helped me if I had questions.

I would highly recommend their place to everyone who wants to stay in that beautiful area for a few weeks! Hope to see you (and Bronte) again one day."

- Sarah from Germany


"I had an amazing stay at the farm! Arran and Gavin were very welcoming, kind and generous. Their beautiful property was clean, organized and peaceful. I worked for 3 weeks and I tried to do the best that I could with the farm's chores. Arran was patient with me and she was always available if I had any questions. 

Arran is also an environmentally conscious, devoted and passionate person about the farming, the blueberries and the livestock. She learned me so much about these subjects! It was truly a rewarding experience for me! I'm so glad to have met you. 

All the best for the family and ... for the future harvests of blueberries!"

- Lydia from Quebec


Some of our wonderful helpers: